The site owner can configure the libraries in order to get version management on the documents in that library.
Depending on the type of library, and the purpose, the owner can choose from
- Only major versions
- Each time the document is saved, the version number is increased. The version numbers are 1, 2, 3, etc
- The standard configuration of the libraries contains this versioning.
- Each time the document is saved, the version number is increased by 0.1 So, you start with 0.1, then 0.2, 0.3 etc.….
- If the document is ready to be published, you save it under a major version So, the version becomes 1.0
- Changing the document again, will start the increase of the version number again So, the version becomes 1.1, 1.2 etc.
- The history of the document is NOT saved !
- We strongly advise NOT to set this option.
Note: Please limit the number of versions you want to keep in order to limit the size of the SharePoint Data Base. Periodically, an analysis will run on all libraries, to clean up the old versions.