Follow

What is Collaboration or Co-authoring?

 

Collaboration means that several people (contributors) can work on a document or items. This can be done in several ways, as described in the paragraphs below .  You need to have contributor rights to collaborate on documents.

Co-authoring

Several users can work in parallel on the same document. During this parallel work, all contributors working on the document are visible, and each one can see on which part of the document the others are working.

After saving, all different updates are visible in the document.

Co-authoring is only possible for WORD and PowerPoint documents.

One person should be assigned to review all the comments & updates in the document and accept/reject them. After performing these updates, a second round of co-authoring can be launched.

Be aware that there might be some issues if you are working with a lot (must define ‘a lot’) of persons on the same document!

 

Check-out /Check-in

If you need to work for a longer time on a document, you should check-out this document, since this prevents other users from being able to work on that document. Who checked out the document is visible on document level.

Check-out is possible for all types of documents.

 

Direct edit in SharePoint

The easiest & quickest way to work on the document is to edit it directly in the SharePoint-environment by simply double clicking on a document link to open it and then saving it back when the work is finished.

This is possible for WORD, EXCEL and PowerPoint documents.

 

Add, update or remove pages, items or documents

You need to have contributor rights in order to add or amend content in the libraries, sites, pages, etc. created by the Site Owner.

These contributors cannot change the site structure, site settings, or site appearance; this is reserved to the site owners. 

All contributors are responsible for creating, uploading, modifying, retaining and archiving their items (documents, reports, tasks, etc.). The different actions related to the management of items are

  • Add a new document
    • You can upload new documents from a place on your computer or network, or save the newly created document directly in the SharePoint environment.
    • If, relevant, the corresponding ENTSO-E Word or PowerPoint template should be used according to document type and audience.
    • Naming conventions should be respected as described in ‘naming conventions‘ in the Intranet and Extranet poilcy and procedures.
    • While adding a new document, the correct Metadata must be indicated. This Metadata is different for each environment (Intranet, Extranet, Website), so please consult the policy document of the environment you are working on.
    • When applicable, document workflow is added.
  • Modify an existing document
    • Documents can be updated within the SharePoint-environment or can be checked-out.
    • The purpose is that several people can work simultaneously on the same document, we call this collaboration. This is possible for Word and PowerPoint files.
    • If you want to work for a longer time on a document, you should check-out this document, since this prevents other users to work on that document. Who checked out the document is visible on document-level.
    • The easiest & quickest way to work on the document is to edit it directly in the SharePoint-environment. You can do this by opening the document, amending the content and then save the document under the same name.
  • Deletion and Recovery
    • Owners & contributors may recover deleted files within SharePoint. If the file has been deleted a long time ago, the recovery will be not available anymore. To request a recovery, Secretariat people can contact the ENTSO-E Service Desk; External people have to contact their coordinator, who will forward this request for recovery to the ENTSO-E Service Desk.
    • In case the deletion was not noticed and nobody knows who did the deletion, the site owner may request an inquiry on WHO deleted the file, in which case the SharePoint administrator will launch the inquiry and inform the owner on the outcome.
    • The ENTSO-E Service Desk is responsible for recovering deleted files and notifying the user when the recovery is done.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk